Classical Civilisation

The Study of Classical Civilisation at Chavagnes is an opportunity to revisit, at a more mature age, the civilisations of Greece and Rome, already studied in Year 7 (age 11). The subject appears in the timetable in Years 10 and 11 (14-16) and is studied by all pupils. It involves the study of complete original texts in translation.

Year 10

Homer’s Illiad

Themes to be studied:

Year 11

Greek Tragedy. Euripides’ Medea.

Themes to be studied:

The course follows the AQA syllabus, leading the GCSE Classical Civilisation examination at the end of Year 11.

Comments are closed.